Story of OrionSkye Art: The Studio

As many of you know my dream has been to transition into a life of art, carving and furniture making. This year has seen the completion of the first step of that dream. I have been fortunate enough to set up a new studio (albeit small) suitable for supporting not only carving work, but, my graphite and watercolor pursuits as well.

I have called it “Orion Skye.” Why OrionSkye?

On a clear night I can walk out of my studio and see, in the southern sky, the great constellation, Orion. He sits there next to Pleades, the Seven Sisters. Greek mythology has it that after a chance meeting with the hunter Orion, the Pleiades and their mother became the object of his pursuit. Enamoured with the young women, he pursued them over the face of the Earth. In pity for their plight, Zeus changed them into a flock of doves, which he set in the heavens.

In the Orion constellation there are two major stars that have been used by ocean navigators for centuries; Betelgeuse and Rigel. I can recall many late night watches at sea looking at these stars and steering my ship based on the course determined by the position of these two stars (and others). Why the spelling Skye? I chose this because it also represents a place (as is my studio), Scotland’s Isle of Skye, and is a nod to my Scottish heritage and to the line of seafarers of the Clan Duncan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

